Quarantine for Out-of-State Travel: What It Means

By Stephanie Carey, Montgomery Health Officer

New Jersey has joined with New York and Connecticut in recommending 14-day quarantine periods for people visiting or returning from other states that have high rates of community spread of COVID-19.  As of June 30, health statistics for 16 states put them on the quarantine list: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah.

This is necessary because New Jersey has struggled mightily to bring our case counts under control and wants to maintain that hard-won achievement. Many other states are now confronting dangerous epidemics that we don’t want to see in New Jersey again. The list of states will change as new data become available.

The quarantine for travelers involves a lot of logistical questions and challenges, which are addressed in the NJ Dept. of Health’s Frequently Asked Questions. The basic rule is that recent travelers from these states must self-quarantine except for food or medical needs.

In Montgomery, our Health Department’s contact tracers will provide coaching, testing resources, and education to help recent travelers get through their quarantine period.

Many people will choose not to travel rather than deal with a 14-day self-quarantine. We realize this may ruin vacation plans and create inconveniences.  Yet we are confident this new guidance is prudent in light of the severity of spread in many parts of the country now. Please contact the Health Department with any questions at (908) 533-9319.

There is further info found on NJ’s covid19.nj.gov pages at: